Tags

, , , ,

I’ve tried making vests in the past with varied success, and with the time crunch hanging over my head I was a little freaked out, because I didn’t have a lot of time to get it right at this stage of the game.

I started by copying the jacket pattern onto a fresh sheet of graph paper, and then drawing my lines to cut off the sleeves.

I sewed the hems on the arm holes, but used black bias tape for the rest, to mimic the trim on Han Solo’s vest in the movie.

For the stripe along the back of the vest, I opened the bias tape and ironed it flat before adhering it to the vest using double-sided hem tape.

I used completly unfolded bias tape for the…hooks? I don’t know what to call them…along the upper back, taping them down after I drew in where they were supposed to go.

The front pockets were going to be tricky, so I drew them in for sizing, then making a quick pattern so they’d be consistent.



I used the tape to fix these in place, as well.

I had a bit of an issue with the half-moon opening pocket, as it ripped when I tried to flip it right-side out, and I ended up having to hand-stitch it in an effort to fix it. I managed to get it to look okay, and only someone doing an extremely close-up examination would notice anything amiss!



If I had to make this vest again, I’d make it a little smaller. It’s a little big on Timmy, but overall it served its purpose.

🙂