Tags

, , ,

I’ve been trying to think of the next round of costumes for Timmy; as I mentioned in the previous post, I’m trying to pick costumes that can use the fabric I already have, so I can minimize costs.

So here’s the list as it stands now:

  • Gandalf (Lord of the Rings)
  • Commander Shepard (Mass Effect)
    • BDUs
    • Armour
  • Luke Skywalker (ANH)
  • Han Solo (ANH)

Specifying ANH to differentiate between Luke and Han’s outfits from the rest of the trilogy 🙂

I might have to pick up some extra fabric for these, but it wouldn’t be a lot. And while I have some experimentation ideas for the armour, I might just stick to the BDUs for Shepard. One of my co-workers tried to convince me that starching fabric would work for simulating the armour, but I’m going to try some of the techniques that people use for People Cosplay, and see how that works for me.

In my research on cosplay armour, and the subsequent reading on thermoplastics, I realized that we sell something similar to Friendly Plastic at work, so I bought a jar to play around with. I also discovered that cosplaysupplies.com is local to me, so that is incredibly helpful; I plan to pick up a sample of Fosshape from them so I can experiment with that, too.

So, in light of all this experimentation and mucking about, I might defer the armour to next year, just so I don’t rush it. And the BDUs are just as iconic as Shep’s armour, anyway 😉

If you have any suggestions for costume ideas, drop me a line!

